
 

 

APPLICATION FOR HOMEOWNER   PERMIT  
 

DBS use only 

 

Please fill out this application completely and submit with payment. If you have questions or need assistance completing the application, please call the 
Division of Building Safety. Please note: permit fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. 

 
 

HOMEOWNER NAME:        

MAILING ADDRESS:        

CITY:  STATE:  ZIP:    

PHONE:  FAX:   

EMAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED):   
 

SELECT THE METHOD YOU WISH TO RECEIVE YOUR PERMIT: 

 □ EMAIL     □ MAIL      □ FAX 
 

DESCRIPTION OF WORK:   

JOB SITE ADDRESS:    

CITY:   ZIP:  COUNTY:   
 

DIRECTIONS TO JOB SITE:   
 
 

 

 

(If known)  LOT:  BLOCK:  SUBDIVISION:   

 
AN ADDITIONAL $65 FEE M AY BE ASSESSED if the location is not clearly given either by directions or an attached map 

 

THIS PERMIT APPLICATION IS NOT AN INSPECTION REQUEST:  Please call 1-800-839-9239 or go to dbs.idaho.gov to 
schedule your inspection. 

 
 

 

 
*Please use the worksheet on page 2 to determine the total fees and enter the amount to be paid here. 

PUBLIC RECORDS NOTICE – Business information such as your company address and phone number is regarded as public information 
according to the Idaho Public Records Act. Your business address and phone number may be provided to a third party upon written request. 

 
 
 
 
DATE:   

 

SIGNATURE:  PRINTED NAME:   
 
 

Page 1 Revised 03/17/2017 

We Accept: cash, check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, American 
Express and Discover.  Make checks payable to the Division of Building 
Safety or DBS 

 
GRAND TOTAL FEES PAID* 
 

P# 
Date: 

STATE OF IDAHO DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY  1090 East Watertower Street, Suite 150 
Meridian, Idaho 83642 

Phone: 1-800-955-3044 
Fax 1-877-810-2840 

dbs.idaho.gov 



 
 

STATE OF IDAHO DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY 1090 East Watertower Street, Suite 150 
Meridian, Idaho 83642 

1-800-955-3044 
Fax 1-877-810-2840 

dbs.idaho.gov 
 

HOMEOWNER HVAC PERMIT WORKSHEET (FEE SCHEDULE) 
 

This worksheet must accompany the Homeowner application. Use this worksheet to calculate the fees and transfer the grand total to the application. 
 
 

RESIDENTIAL Total $ 
 

• New: Single Family Dwelling, including all buildings with HVAC being constructed on each property. 
* Based on living space (see definition below) 

□ Up to 1,500 sq. ft. $130 
□ 1,501 to 2,500 sq. ft. $195 Total Square Footage    
□ 2,501 to 3,500 sq. ft. $260  (All Fireplace/Gas line installations not to exceed 1,500 sq. ft. = $130.00) 
□ 3,501 to 4,500 sq. ft. $325 
□ Over 4,500 sq. ft. $325 plus $65 for each additional 1,000 sq. ft. or portion thereof 

$325 + ( $65 х # of additional 1,000 sq. ft. or portion thereof ) 

• Manual S, J, & D Review - $25   (Required when installing the primary heating and/or cooling source) 

 

* Living Space – space within a dwelling unit utilized for sleeping, eating, cooking, bathing, washing and sanitation purposes. 
An unfinished basement is considered part of the living space. 

 
 
 

$   

• New: Multi-Family Dwelling 
□ Duplex: $260 

 
$   

Existing Residence Detached Shop: 
$65 dollars plus $10 per piece of additional HVAC equipment (furnace, boilers, wood stoves, factory-built 
fireplace, gas lines, pool heaters, mini-split system, hydronic system, etc.) and / or exhaust ducts (range hoods, 
dryer, exhaust fans, etc.). Fee shall not exceed ‘New Residential’ square footage fee. 

 
Total Pieces of Equipment      

 
*One piece of equipment or exhaust duct is included in the $65.00 fee 

 
 
$   

Requested Inspection: $65 $ 

 
 
 
 

GRAND TOTAL: $   
Please transfer this fee to your application 
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