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STATE OF IDAHO DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY 1090 EastWatertower Street, Suite 150
Meridian, Idaho 83642 

Ph: 1-800-955-3044 

APPLICATION FOR CONTRACTOR PERMIT
DBS use only

Please fill out this application completely and submit with payment. If you have questions or need assistance completing the application, please call the 
Division of Building Safety. Please note: permit fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

COMPANY NAME: LICENSE#:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:

PHONE: FAX:

EMAIL ADDRESS:
I WOULD LIKE THE ABOVE INFORMATION TO BE UPDATED ON MY LICENSE RECORD.

SELECT THE METHOD YOU WISH TO RECEIVE YOUR PERMIT:
EMAIL  MAIL   FAX

DESCRIPTION OF WORK:

JOB SITE ADDRESS: 

CITY: ZIP: COUNTY:

(If known) LOT: BLOCK: SUBDIVISION:

OWNER EMAIL ADDRESS:

IS THIS A STATE OWNED FACILITY? YES NO JOB NAME:

DIRECTIONS TO JOBSITE:

AN ADDITIONAL $65 FEE MAY BE ASSESSED if the location is not clearly given either by directions or an attached map.

THIS PERMIT APPLICATION IS NOT AN INSPECTION REQUEST: Please call 1-800-839-9239 or go to dbs.idaho.gov

to schedule your inspection. It is the responsibility of the permit holder to arrange access to the premises with the property 
owner in order for DBS to perform the inspection.

*Please use the worksheet on page 2 to determine the total fees and enter the amount to be paid here.

PUBLIC RECORDS NOTICE – Business information such as your company address and phone number is regarded as public information 
according to the Idaho Public Records Act. Your business address and phone number may be provided to a third party upon written request.

DATE:   

SIGNATURE: _ PRINTED NAME:

P#
Date:

We Accept: cash, check, money order, Visa and MasterCard 
Make checks payable to the Division of Building Safety or DBS

GRAND TOTAL FEES PAID*

Revised 07/01/2020
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STATE OF IDAHO DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY 1090 East Watertower Street, Suite 150
Meridian, Idaho 83642

1-800-955-3044
Fax 1-877-810-2840

customer.service@dbs.idaho.gov

CONTRACTOR HVAC PERMIT WORKSHEET (FEE SCHEDULE)
This worksheet must accompany the Contractor Application. Use this worksheet to calculate the fees and transfer the grand total to the application.

RESIDENTIAL
Type Fee Total

Base Permit $100 $100
Furnace, air conditioner, heat pump, evaporative cooler, unit heater, space heater, 
decorative gas-fired appliance, incinerator, boiler, pool heater, mini-split system, free-
standing solid-fuel stove, factory-built gas fireplace, HRV, ERV or similar fixture or 
appliance, includes ducts, vents and flues attached thereto

$30 for first fixture or 
appliance

Plus $15 per additional 
fixture or appliance.

$_______

$_______

Exhaust duct or ventilation duct, including dryer vents, range hood vents, cook stove 
vents, bath fan vents, crawl exhaust fans and similar exhaust ducts or ventilation ducts

$15 for first duct

Plus $5 per additional duct

$_______

$_______
Fuel gas piping system $5 per appliance outlet

$_______
Hydronic system (Does not include Boiler/Appliance-See above) $5 per zone $_______
Manual S, J, & D 
Review required when installing the primary heating and/or cooling system in a NEW single or two-family dwelling $25 $_______

    TOTAL: $
Please transfer this fee to your application

Miscellaneous
Requested inspection $65 per hour or portion 

thereof plus costs of out-
of-state travel $_______

Mobile or manufactured home $65 per inspection $_______
Modular building (HVAC contractor or Homeowner only) $65 per inspection $_______
Plan check or technical service $65 per hour or portion 

thereof $_______

TOTAL: $
Please transfer this fee to your application

COMMERCIAL / INDUSTRIAL

TOTAL: $
Please transfer this fee to your application

The HVAC system cost is the cost to the owner of labor charges and other costs incurred to complete the installation 
of equipment and materials installed as part of the HVAC system. All permit fees calculated under this section are 
based on the total HVAC system cost, which must be listed on the permit.

Total cost of HVAC system (Job Value Amount): $

� Up to $10,000:                       (total cost of system x 0.02) + 60 = $
� Between $10,001 - $100,000:((total cost of system – 10,000) x 0.01) + $260 = $     
� Over $100,001: ((total cost of system – 100,000) x 0.005) + $1,160 = $

$
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