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APPLICATION FOR HVAC APPRENTICE WORK REGISTRATION 
 

Idaho Statutes and Rules are subject to change and it is the registrant’s responsibility to ensure they have 
read and understand the requirements to do HVAC work in Idaho. Idaho Statutes and Rules can be 
found online at: https://dbs.idaho.gov/rules/current.html. 
 
To qualify for registration as an HVAC Apprentice, an applicant must: 

• Be at least 18 years of age or provide proof of registration with the U.S. Department of Labor’s Office of 
Apprenticeship Training certified HVAC program.  

• Submit a completed notarized application (included). 
• Pay the $10 (non-refundable) license registration fee.  

 
 
 

IDAPA 07.07.01.025. HVAC APPRENTICE REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTRATION. 
Requirements for HVAC Apprentice.  

  
01. Registration. To become an apprentice, a person shall comply with Section 54-5012, Idaho Code, and be a 

minimum of eighteen (18) years of age or sixteen (16) years of age if registered by the Bureau of Apprenticeship 
and Training of the United States Department of Labor. To renew a registration, an apprentice shall show proof 
of enrollment in a Board-approved training course or completion of eight (8) hours of Board-approved 
continuing education for each year of the prior registration period. 

 
02. Supervision. Each apprentice must work under the supervision of a certified HVAC journeyman.  
 
 
To register for the HVAC apprenticeship school program: 

• See page four (4) of this application for a list of approved schools.                       
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THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY A NOTARY PUBLIC 
 

State of: ___________________________________          
     
The above individual appeared before me this _____________ day of_______________________________, 20____________. 
 
              
             NOTARY SEAL:                                                                            __________________________________________ 
           Signature of Notary Public 

                                                                                               
                    Commission Expires: ________________________ 

 
 
 
 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR HVAC APPRENTICE WORK REGISTRATION 
*YOU MUST PROVIDE A COPY OF LEGAL IDENTIFICATION (Driver’s license, Passport, Military ID) 

 
Are you currently serving in the US military, a veteran or spouse of any such person? Yes _____ No _____ 
 
Applicant’s Legal Name: _____________________________________________Date of Birth: ___________ 
 
Mailing Address: __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
City: _____________________________________________State: _________Zip Code: ______________ 
 
Social Security Number:________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Contact Phone Number(s):____________________________________________________________________ 
 
E-Mail Address:_______________________________________________________________________________  
       (All future notifications will be done via email.) 

 Have you ever held an HVAC license in another jurisdiction?    No  ________  Yes  ________   If Yes, attach a     
 copy of the license.   

 
Please be advised that the DBS shall consider the address provided by the applicant on this form as the business 
address of record for the applicant, which may be subject to public disclosure in accordance with the Idaho 
Public Records Act (I.C. §101 et seq). Because the address will be used for the purposes of all correspondence 
from the DBS with the license/registration holder, please be sure to provide an address that will be accurate for 
the duration of license or registration period. By providing this application the successful applicant 
acknowledges that upon request DBS may disclose the address as a public record, and the applicant provides 
his/her consent to do so. 
 
I also hereby authorize the Idaho Division of Building Safety to release the last 4 (four) numbers of my Social 
Security Number for verification purposes. 
 

I certify the information above is correct and acknowledge I have read and understand the Idaho HVAC 
apprentice requirements in IDAPA 07.07.01.025. 
 
*Signature: _________________________________________________________ *Date:________________ 
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THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY A NOTARY PUBLIC 

 
HVAC WORK VERIFICATION FORM 

(Please use a separate form for each employer) 
 

SELF-VERIFICATION WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED 
 
Applicant’s Legal Name: __________________________________________   License # if required: _____________ 
 
Employer/Verifier: ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address: ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
City: _____________________________________________  State: ___________ Zip Code: __________________ 
 
E-Mail Address: ________________________________________Telephone Number:________________________ 
 
Dates of Employment:  __________________________________________________________________________ 
    From: (month/day/year)   To: (month/day/year)  
 
Total hours performing HVAC work for this employer for the time period noted above: __________________ 
 
 
Was this work done in the State of Idaho?  No  ________ Yes  ________ State________________________________  
(If the work was performed in multiple States, a separate verification form is needed for each State. Listed license Number 
s must reflect the State in which the work was performed.) 
 
I swear (or affirm) under penalty of perjury that the foregoing information is true, complete, and correct. 
 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Employer’s Authorized Signature          Date 
 
 
 
 
             State of: ______________________________ 
 
            The above individual appeared before me this ________________day of _________________________, 20_____________. 
         
                                                                                                            __________________________________________________ 
             NOTARY SEAL:                                                                  Signature of Notary Public 
 
                                                                                                            Commission Expires: _________________________________ 
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HVAC APPRENTICESHIP SCHOOLS 
 

College of Southern Idaho *(1 or 2-year program available) (800) 680-0274 
College of Western Idaho (208) 562-3000 
Eastern Idaho Technical College (800) 662-0261  
HVACR Education (888) 655-4822 

Option 2 
Idaho State University (208) 282-3372 
Lewis Clark State College *(1 or 2-year program available) (208) 792-2442 
NE Washington/N Idaho Sheet Metal JATC* (509) 928-5009 
North Idaho College *(1 or 2-year program available) 4-year program   
                                                                                        9-month program              

(208) 769-3214 
(208) 769-3441 

Northwest HVAC/R *(1 or 2-year program available) (509) 747-8810 
Pocatello & SE Idaho Sheet Metal JATC* (208) 233-5214 
Southwest Central Idaho Sheet Metal JATC* (208) 562-0237 
Southwest Idaho JATC* (208) 288-1296 
Ultimate Heating and Air (208) 321-8663 

*Joint Apprentice and Training Committee 
 

*Please contact school for program details 
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IDAPA 07.07.01. 023.HVAC JOURNEYMAN CERTIFICATES OF COMPETENCY: REQUIREMENTS. 
 
01. Experience. Demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the board, a minimum of four (4) years’ experience working in the 
trade, in compliance with the requirements of the state in which the applicant received his supervision, or as a registered 
HVAC apprentice making HVAC installations on the job under the supervision of a qualified HVAC journeyman. 
Notwithstanding the requirement that an HVAC apprentice demonstrate four (4) years of on-the-job work experience under 
the supervision of a qualified HVAC journeyman, any HVAC apprentice who successfully completes a Board-approved, 
full-time, one (1)-academic-year HVAC training course may receive credit for up to one (1) year of on-the-job work 
experience.  
   
02. Education. Successfully complete any required apprenticeship training courses.  
 
03.Examination. Applicants for certification as HVAC journeymen must successfully complete the examination designated by 
the board. 

 
  a. Each HVAC apprentice who desires to take the HVAC journeyman examination shall complete a Board-approved 
training course as described in Subsection 025.02 of these rules prior to the date of the examination and provide a certificate of 
completion with the apprentice’s application for examination. There is no minimum work experience requirement to be eligible 
to take the HVAC journeyman examination. 
 

b. The Division shall not issue a certificate of competency to an HVAC apprentice until the apprentice furnishes to the 
Division proof of satisfaction of the requirements contained in Subsection 023.01 of these rules and successful completion of 
the journeyman examination.  

 
04. Out of State Journeyman Applications.  
 

a. Exhibition of a license issued by another recognized jurisdiction may be accepted as proof of 
meeting the experience and schooling requirements listed in Subsections 023.01 and 023.02 of these rules. An 
application for a journeyman certificate of competency from an individual previously licensed as a journeyman in 
another jurisdiction recognized by the Idaho HVAC Board shall include satisfactory proof of licensure in such 
jurisdiction. The applicant shall pay all applicable application and examination fees to the Division, and successfully 
complete the journeyman examination administered by the Division.  

 
b. An application for a journeyman certificate of competency from an individual who has never been 

previously licensed as a journeyman in a jurisdiction recognized by the Idaho HVAC Board shall include evidence 
that demonstrates that the applicant has four (4) years, defined as eight thousand (8,000) hours of HVAC work 
experience or a nature at least equivalent to that which a HVAC apprentice must perform in Idaho, as well as four (4) 
years of schooling equivalent to that which a HVAC apprentice must complete in Idaho. Alternatively, such an 
applicant may submit sufficient proof verifying eight (8) years, defined as a minimum of sixteen thousand (16,000) 
hours of HVAC work experience of a nature at least equivalent to that which a HVAC apprentice must perform in 
Idaho. Upon submission of sufficient proof of having completed such experience and schooling requirements, such 
applicant shall also pay all applicable application and examination fees to the Division, and successfully complete the 
journeyman examination administered by the Division. 
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