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2020 National Electrical Code, Will we
adopt?
Code Adoption Collaboratives Beginning

The Idaho Electrical Board

was petitioned to enter

Everyone is invited and
encouraged to participate in
negotiated rulemaking to
adopt the 2020 NEC. You can
find information on the dates

this process. This is your
opportunity to effect
electrical codes for the state
of Idaho. You can find

information on dates here.

of several collaboratives that
will be held to discuss the

adoption of the new code.

ldaho Legislature Begins in 2020

Rule changes being presented

Following are several rule changes negotiated and approved by
the electrical board. These are considered “proposed” rules until

the legislature approves them. If approved they become rule.

A terminology change from “recognized jurisdiction” to
“recognized license”. Currently anyone with a license from a
recognized jurisdiction cannot sign up as an apprentice. The issue
is that some jurisdictions issue licenses that Idaho does not
recognize. An example of this would be Washington’s residential
journeyman license. Persons coming from Washington with one of
these licenses cannot sign up as an apprentice but are not qualified
to test as a journeyman electrician. By recognizing the license and
not the jurisdiction would allow DBS to register people with this

type of license as an apprentice and allow them to go to work.

The requirement to prove residential, commercial and industrial

experience is also proposed to be removed.

ldaho Electrical
Program

Information for the Idaho
Electrical program can be
found at the following link
https://dbs.idaho.gov/boards/e
bboard/ebmembers.html

You can visit the Electrical
Program Facebook page for up
to date announcements and
follow us here
https://www.facebook.com/DB
SElectrical/

The Idaho Electrical Board
meets every three months to
discuss the direction of the
electrical program and
concerns from the industry or
citizens. You can find
information about the board
meetings and dates of future
board meetings here
https://dbs.idaho.gov/boards/e
bboard/ebmeetings.html

You can contact your
electrical board members by
following this link
https://dbs.idaho.gov/board
s/ebboard/ebmembers.html
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https://dbs.idaho.gov/programs/electrical/documents/ID_NEC_Code_Collaborative_Meeting_Announcement.pdf

Currently apprentice who do not complete a specific amount of school and training in a specified amount

of time can be denied the ability to reregister. With the statutes passed last year that allow apprentice to

reregister indefinitely, it is being proposed to require either school or 24 hours of continued education

prior to registration. So instead of being denied registration indefinitely or requiring someone to attend

school for a year before they can register. A person would simply have to take 24 hours of CEU’s prior to

registering as an apprentice.

With the statute change last year that allows an apprentice to test for the journeyman license without

school and only providing 16,000 hours of experience. A rule is being proposed to do away with the

requirement to retake 4™ year if you have not passed the journeyman exam within two years of

graduating school.

A proposed rule is also being presented to do a way with the requirement that a person from out of state

who has received a journeyman license wait 1 year before they can reciprocate. It will also be proposed to

do away with the requirement that says if someone has failed Idaho’s journeyman exam they can not

reciprocate to Idaho.

Idaho Power Multiple Meter
Installations

The following is from Idaho
Power and applies to
contractors installing meters
for Idaho Power customer.

Multiple Meters

The NEC generally requires a
building or structure to be
supplied by only one service
(meter). Multiple meters of
the same Rate Class are not
allowed on a single structure
at a single address. This
requirement does not apply to
multi-tenant structures such
as duplexes, apartments

complexes or strip malls.

Each meter base or service
disconnect that is part of an
installation with more than
one meter is required to be

plainly marked with numbers

and/or letters that correspond
to the address, suite, office, or
room it serves. Marking shall
be a permanent nameplate or
placard (hand-written address

information is not acceptable).

The previous requirement
simply indicated
“permanently marked” with
no specific requirement for a
nameplate or placard. Can
you maybe put a note about it

in your newsletter?

Idaho Power will begin
looking for this right away
but will work with installers
in the short term on
understanding the

requirement.
Continuing Education

Upcoming CEU classes

You can find a list of free

upcoming CEU classes here.

These classes are free and
held at DBS. We try to do
these each month but check
to see if we have something
scheduled. Other classes
not presented by DBS can

be found at CEBroker.com

Every license holder has
access to a free CEBroker
account to track their
completed CEU’s. Master
and journeyman
electricians are required to
complete 24 hours of CEU’s
between each licensing
period. At least 8 hours
must be code update. The
remaining 16 hours can be
code update, code related

or industry related.


https://www.eventbrite.com/o/the-division-of-building-safety-14643729552
https://cebroker.com/

Apprentice Ratio Adjustment
By special permission only

Contractors can have their
apprentice ratio adjusted by
special permission only. To do
this you need to send me an
email requesting a ratio
adjustment. These are
primarily being granted for
work being done in one- and
two-family dwelling units.
Some commercial jobs have
been allowed on an individual
job basis. There are specific
requirements that a contractor
has to agree to and safety
issues that must be addressed
prior to being granted a ratio
adjustment. For more
information on this you can
contact

Warren.Wing@dbs.idaho.gov

Possible Permanent
Ratio Adjustment

Legislation

Board notified of possible
legislation regarding

apprentice ratio’s

The Idaho Electrical Board
was notified during the
October board meeting that
legislation to allow for a 3:1
or 4:1 ratio is being

presented to the legislature

this year. This legislation is
being ran by an Idaho
electrical contractor
independently of the Idaho
electrical board and
Division of Building Safety.
The legislation would allow
for contractors to have
more apprentice if the
apprentice they have meet
certain experience and

education guidelines.

Inspector job

announcement

Division of Building Safety
looking for electrical

inspector

If you are interested in
working as an electrical
inspector for the Idaho
Division of Building Safety
you can find the
announcement at the

following link.


mailto:Warren.Wing@dbs.idaho.gov
https://www.governmentjobs.com/careers/idaho/jobs/2634456/electrical-inspector?keywords=electrical&pagetype=jobOpportunitiesJobs
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