Skip to main content

Public Works Contractors Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Public Works Contractors

Any contractor or subcontractor who wishes to construct, repair or reconstruct any project that involves public funding of contracts/purchase orders with the State of Idaho or any other political subdivision of the state authorized to let or award contracts for public work if the estimated cost of the entire project is $10,000 or more.

Persons wishing to engage in private residential or private commercial contracting do not require a Public Works Contractor License but should become registered as a general contractor by contacting the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses at (208) 334-3233 or by following at https://ibol.idaho.gov


↑ Top
The Idaho Legislature has determined it to be in the best interest of the people of Idaho to assure that with respect to public facilities, only experienced and qualified contractors with sufficient financial wherewithal perform work in which they have specific expertise.
↑ Top

Applications may be requested at any of our DBS Offices and also available by phone request at (208) 334-4057 or (800)358-6895 or can be downloaded from the Public Works Forms & Applications page.

All applications must be submitted to:

Public Works Contractor Licensing
1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150
Meridian ID  83642


↑ Top
To file a complaint against a contractor, please fill out and return the Complaint Form. You can also find the Complaint Form under DBS Forms & Applications.
↑ Top
More information regarding Public Works Contractor Licensing can be found on the Public Works Program Additional Information Fact Sheet.
↑ Top

Construction Managers

The State of Idaho requires that construction managers (CM's) be licensed in order to assure the public that CM's have the level of education and experience required for successful management of public construction projects. A license is required for any individual who wishes to act as a construction manager in public works construction or offers to perform construction management services on any project where the estimated cost of the entire project is $10,000 or more and where the project involves public funding from the State of Idaho or any other political subdivision of the state that is authorized to let or award contracts for any public work.
↑ Top
Construction Manager $200
Certificate of Authority $100
↑ Top

The Public Works Construction Manager License Application [PDF] may be downloaded from the DBS website at no charge. Applications and forms may also be requested at any of the DBS Offices or by phone request at (208) 334-4057 or (800)358-6895.

All applications must be submitted to:

Public Works Contractor Licensing
1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150
Meridian ID  83642


↑ Top
  • The Construction Manager application must be completed and submitted to the Public Works Contractors Licensing Program along with the license fee
  • Education transcripts (if available)
  • Four (4) years of work history with a degree in CM or architectural, engineering or
  • Five (5) years of work history with no degree in CM or architectural, engineering
  • Three (3) letters of reference relating to applicable work history.
  • Certification by CMAA that you have successfully passed the exam.

↑ Top

↑ Top

Links

Contacts

Chris Jensen, Administrator
Licensing & Fees
  • 208-334-4057 (Meridian Area)
  • 800-955-3044 (toll free)
  • 877-810-2840 (fax)