ADDITIONAL INFORMATION FACT SHEET

Public Works Contractor Licensing

1. What is the cost of a Public Works license?

CLASS FEE
Unlimited $550
AAA $450
AA $350
A $250
B $150
CcC $125
C $100

D $50

2. What information do | need to submit in order to get a Public Works
Contractor license?

e A contractor application form must be completed and submitted to Public Works
Contractors Licensing along with the appropriate license fee.

e A current financial statement.

e Three (3) contractor references.

e The appropriate examination form for the class of license you are applying for.

3. What Public Works Contractor test will | need to take?

e If you are applying for a Class D license, complete the Class D Examination
(pwf-106) included with the application materials and available under Forms &
Applications and submit it with your application. Your license will be issued when
your application has been approved and you have passed your examination with
a score of 70% or higher.

e If you are applying for a Class Unlimited, AAA, AA, A, B, CC or C license you
will need to complete the License Examination Information form (pwf-106a)
available under Forms & Applications and submit it with your application. Once
your application has been approved, you will be notified by Division of Building
Safety (DBS) via email to schedule your examination at one of our testing sites.
Your license will be issued when we receive confirmation that you attained a
score of 70% or higher.
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4. How can | order Public Works Contractor study reference information?

The Class D study information is always included with mailed out applications. It
consists of the Idaho Public Works Statutes and Rules which relates to Public
Works Contractor licensing. It can also be acquired by calling (800) 955-3044 or
is available for download by clicking the link above.

The Class Unlimited, AAA, AA, A, B, CC or C study information is the Idaho
Public Works Statutes and Rules AND the Division of Building Safety

Contractor's Business and Law Reference Manual. They can be acquired by
calling (800) 955-3044 or is available by download by clicking the links above.

How do | determine the type(s) of Public Works Contractor license(s) | may
need?

There are four (4) types of Public Works Contractor licenses:

Heavy Construction
Highway Construction
Building Construction
Specialty Construction

PwpnPE

The type establishes the work that can be performed as a Public Works
Contractor. In order to determine the appropriate type, contractors must submit
detailed work history and reference letters.

How do | determine which class of license | may need?

There are eight (8) classes of licenses: Unlimited, AAA, AA, A, B, CC, C and D.

The class of license determines the dollar amount a Public Works Contractor
may bid for on a Public Works project.

Classes of licenses are determined by the company’s net worth, working capital
and the dollar amount of projects they have completed.

The chart below will help you choose the appropriate class of license.
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Net Worth | Working Capital Completed Bid Limit by Class
Project Amounts
Unlimited | $1,000,000 $600,000 $3,500,000 Unlimited
AAA $600,000 $200,000 $2,100,000 | $5,000,000 or less
AA $450,000 $150,000 $875,000 $3,000,000
A $300,000 $100,000 $420,000 $1,250,000
B $150,000 $50,000 $280,000 $600,000
CC $75,000 $25,000 $140,000 $400,000
C $25,000 $7,500 $35,000 $200,000
D $10,000 $3,000 No Minimum $50,000 or less
Dollar Amount

7. What are the financial statement requirements for each class of license?

Class Type of Financial Statement Required
Financial statements must either be on our approved, multi-purpose
balance sheet pgs. 1 - 8 provided (information can not be more than
six months old), on QuickBooks or otherwise prepared by a CPA or
DorC LPA. Statements prepared by a CPA or LPA must include the
accountant's report and may be compiled, reviewed or an audited
balance sheet. Financial statements more than 12 months old will
not be accepted.
Requires a Compiled financial statement prepared by a CPA or LPA.
CCorB It MUST include the accountant's report and cannot be more than 12
months old.
A, AA, Requires either a Reviewed or Audited financial statement prepared
AAA or by a CPA or LPA. It MUST include the accountant's report and
Unlimited | cannot be more than 12 months old.
Parent company financial statements submitted for qualification must
Parent reflect the company's name in the financial statement and include a
Co. guarantor letter.

8. How often will I have to renew my Public Works Contractor license?

Licenses are renewed annually on the anniversary date of your original license
issue.
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9.

If awarded a Public Works project can | let another contractor perform work
under my license?

No. A Public Works Contractor license cannot be used by another contractor.
As a licensed Public Works Contractor, you have the option of sub-contracting
work to another licensed Public Works Contractor, or putting the unlicensed
contractor’s employees on your payroll to perform that portion of the work. If you
choose the latter option, you must pay the employees directly and provide them a
form W-2.

10.Why do | have to list Plumbing, Mechanical or Electrical Subcontractors

when bidding on a Public Works project?

This requirement falls under Title 67-2310. Please use the following link to
review this statute:
http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title67/T67CH23SECT67-2310.htm

11.Why do | have to take the same test for an electrical, plumbing or HVAC

contractor’s license as | do for a Public Works Contractor license?

The contractor portions of the exams are the same and are required to only be
passed once. The trade portion of the exams is different.

12.Why is the state involved in my business and what does my license fee do

for me?

The licensing process assures that you are experienced and qualified to perform
the work you are bidding on, that you have the financial wherewithal to complete
the project and that you are able to obtain bonding. The fees cover
administrative costs of the licensing process and assist us in investigating
complaints against those who do not comply with Title 54-19.
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