Skip to main content

Licensing & Continuing Education

Licensing

Who Needs to be Licensed?

Persons who perform electrical, HVAC or plumbing work without a required state-issued license or who violate other applicable codes or rules are subject to civil penalties.

It is unlawful to engage in public works contracting without first having acquired an Idaho Public Works Contractor License of the proper class. The Division of Building Safety may impose substantial administrative assessments for contractor violations.

It is unlawful to engage in construction management services on public works projects without first having acquired an Idaho Construction Manager License. Violations of this provision may result in significant administrative assessments.

For more information see below.



Continuing Education

Electrical CEU and Renewal Policy

IDAPA 07.01.07 states journeyman and master electricians must complete at least 24 hours of continuing education instruction in every 3 year period between renewals of such licenses. The 24 hours shall consist of...

  • 8 hours of code update covering changes included in the latest edition of the NEC.
  • 8 hours of code related training.
  • 8 hours of industry-related.

Individuals may submit more hours for each type of required courses. But we cannot accept more than 8 hours for each category. I understand that we have been sending courtesy reminders to license holders stating that we will accept 16 hour hours of code update and 8 hours of industry. This is outside of what the rule allows and needs to be corrected.

Effective July 1, 2017, individuals requesting CEU credit will have to comply with IDAPA 07.01.07:

  • 8 hours of code update covering changes included in the latest edition of the NEC.
  • 8 hours of code related training.
  • 8 hours of industry-related.

Individuals who have taken a 16 hour code update course and 8 hours of industry-related CEU's prior to July 1, 2017 will have those CEU credits accepted by the Division of Building Safety.

The Idaho Division of Building Safety (DBS) has partnered with CE Broker to track and manage the continuing education requirements for our licensed professionals. This means that you will have a powerful new tool at your fingertips to help you increase attendance at your CE courses!

You will find approved courses, and account login information at https://www.cebroker.com/.

Plumbing

After December 31, 2013, plumbing journeyman and contractors will be required to have the minimum hours of continuing education to renew their license. Journeymen must complete eight (8) hours of continuing education for every three-year license cycle, or complete an exam administered by the Division. Of the required eight (8) hours, four (4) hours must be plumbing code update related and the other four (4) hours may be industry related training. Contractors must complete sixteen (16) hours of continuing education for every three-year license cycle. Hours accrued obtaining journeyman education may be applied toward this requirement whenever applicable.

Beginning January 1, 2013, those holding a valid journeyman license may take the CEU exam administered by the Division of Building Safety. A fee of fifty ($50) dollars must be paid before taking the exam.

The Idaho Division of Building Safety (DBS) has partnered with CE Broker to track and manage the continuing education requirements for our licensed professionals. This means that you will have a powerful new tool at your fingertips to help you increase attendance at your CE courses!

You will find approved courses, and account login information at https://www.cebroker.com/.

HVAC

There is no continuing education requirement for HVAC at this time.

Manufactured Housing Installers

Each year you hold a valid MFG Installer license you are required to obtain 4 hours of Idaho approved continuing education in order to renew your license. You may contact the Division of Building Safety to inquire about approved courses.

 

Top

Links

PWCL Administrative Assessments

Electrical, Plumbing & HVAC Contacts

Licensing, Permits & Inspection Support
  • 208-334-3950
  • 800-955-3044
Inspection Requests
  • 208-332-4700
  • 800-839-9239

Public Works Contractor Licensing Contacts

Licensing & Fees
  • 208-334-4057
  • 800-955-3044