
 

 

APPLICATION FOR HOMEOWNER PERMIT   
DBS use only 

 

Please fill out this application completely and submit with payment. If you have questions or need assistance completing the application, please call the 
Division of Building Safety. Please note: permit fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. 

 
 

HOMEOWNER NAME:        

MAILING ADDRESS:        

CITY:  STATE:  ZIP:    

PHONE:  FAX:   

EMAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED):   
 

SELECT THE METHOD YOU WISH TO RECEIVE YOUR PERMIT: 

 □ EMAIL     □ MAIL      □ FAX 
 

DESCRIPTION OF WORK:   

JOB SITE ADDRESS:    

CITY:   ZIP:  COUNTY:   
 

DIRECTIONS TO JOB SITE:   
 
 

 

 

(If known)  LOT:  BLOCK:  SUBDIVISION:   
 

AN ADDITIONAL $65 FEE M AY BE ASSESSED if the location is not clearly given either by directions or an attached map 
 

THIS PERMIT APPLICATION IS NOT AN INSPECTION REQUEST:  Please call 1-800-839-9239 or go to dbs.idaho.gov 
to schedule your inspection. 

 
 

 
 
*Please use the worksheet on page 2 to determine the total fees and enter the amount to be paid here. 

PUBLIC RECORDS NOTICE – Business information such as your company address and phone number is regarded as public information 
according to the Idaho Public Records Act. Your business address and phone number may be provided to a third party upon written request. 

 
I certify that I am the owner of the residential property and will personally perform the work covered by this permit. I recognize this permit is only valid for work on a 
primary or secondary residence and associated outbuildings not used for commercial purposes or rented by a tenant. By signing this, I accept responsibility for all the 
work being performed, and understand that all work must be inspected by the Division of Building Safety.  I attest that I have read DBS guidelines concerning electrical 
installations being performed by homeowners. https://dbs.idaho.gov/programs/electrical/guidelines/homeowner_guidelines.html 
 
Please use the following link to review what type of electrical installations homeowners are not allowed to perform. 
https://dbs.idaho.gov/programs/electrical/documents/Change_in_Policy-Homeowners_Exemption.pdf 
 
DATE:   

 

SIGNATURE:  PRINTED NAME:   
 

Page 1 Revised 11/02/2016 

We Accept: cash, check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, American 
Express and Discover.  Make checks payable to the Division of Building 
Safety or DBS 

 
GRAND TOTAL FEES PAID* 
 

P# 
Date: 

STATE OF IDAHO DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY  1090 East Watertower Street, Suite 150 
Meridian, Idaho 83642 

Phone: 1-800-955-3044 
Fax 1-877-810-2840 

dbs.idaho.gov 

https://dbs.idaho.gov/index.html
https://dbs.idaho.gov/programs/electrical/guidelines/homeowner_guidelines.html
https://dbs.idaho.gov/programs/electrical/documents/Change_in_Policy-Homeowners_Exemption.pdf


 
 
 
 

 

STATE OF IDAHO DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY 1090 East Watertower Street, Suite 150 
Meridian, Idaho 83642 

1-800-955-3044 
Fax 1-877-810-2840 

dbs.idaho.gov 
 
 

ELECTRICAL PERMIT WORKSHEET (FEE SCHEDULE) 
 

This worksheet must accompany the Homeowner Application. Use this worksheet to calculate the fees and transfer the grand total to the 
application. 
 
 

RESIDENTIAL Total $ 

 
• New: Single Family Dwelling, including all associated outbuildings in connection with primary or secondary 

residence. 
* Based on living space (see definition below) 

□ Up to 1,500 sq.ft. $130 
□ 1,501 to 2,500 sq.ft. $195 Total Square Footage    
□ 2,501 to 3,500 sq.ft. $260 
□ 3,501 to 4,500 sq.ft. $325 
□ Over 4,500 sq.ft. $325 plus $65 for each additional 1,000 sq.ft. or portion thereof 

$325 + ( $65 х  # of additional 1,000 sq.ft. or portion thereof ) 

 
 
 
$   

 
   Existing Residence      Modular, Manufactured or Mobile Homes      Detached Shop: 

 
$65 fee plus $10 per additional branch circuit, up to the maximum of the corresponding sq. of the 
building (one circuit is included in the $65.00) 
  

$65 + ( $10 х  # of additional branch circuits  ) 

 
 $               

     Temporary Construction Services Only (200 amp or less, one location): $65.00 
     Pumps – Water, Irrigation, Sewage (each motor): $65.00 up to 25 HP 
 

 
 $              

 
     Requested Inspection 
     Power has been off over 1 year (REALTORS ONLY) 

 
 

 
$65.00 per hr 

 
 $              

 
GRAND TOTAL: $   

Please transfer this fee to your application 
 

* Living Space – space within a dwelling unit intended for human habitation which may reasonably be utilized for sleeping, eating, 
cooking, bathing, washing, recreation, and sanitation purposes. An unfinished basement is considered part of the living space. 
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