
STATE OF IDAHO DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
1090 East Watertower Street Suite 150

Meridian, Idaho 83642

 

                Phone 800-955-3044 
Fax 877-810-2840 

dbs.idaho.gov 
 

APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION AS A MANUFACTURED HOUSING 
RETAILER, RESALE BROKER, OR INSTALLER 

The Division of Building Safety requires a passing score of at least 70% (percent) on the 
appropriate examination prior to issuance of an original license as a retailer, installer, or 
resale broker. There is no cost for the examination.  The person taking the examination 
must be the person who will assume responsibility on behalf of the company and will be 
responsible for insuring that the company complies with all applicable statutes.  Applicants 
must be 18 years or older. 
 

  Installer:  Installs a manufactured home or mobile home on site where it is to be occupied. 
  Retailer:  Sells or exchanges new, used, resale, or brokered manufactured or mobile homes. 
  Resale Broker:  Sells broker-owned, third party, or other mfg. homes or mobile homes. 
 
  Additional requirements for licensure retailer or resale broker: 

 Applicants will be required to submit to a fingerprint based criminal history check  
through the Idaho Central Criminal Database and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.   
This will require the applicant to submit a full set of fingerprints and the applicable 
fees of $39.75 to the Division of Building Safety.  The applicant will receive the  
fingerprint card once they have been approved for the exam.   

 Retailers of new manufactured homes must provide proof of being an authorized  
franchise dealer for the make home they intend to sell. 

 Retailers:  An original bond in the amount of $40,000.00. 
 Resale Brokers:  An original bond in the amount of $30,000.00. 
 Applicants may have to provide proof that they have a principle place of business. 
 Please provide a copy of Secretary of State filing if a business entity. 

 
  Additional requirements for licensure as an installer: 

 Applicants are required to complete an online course before examination. Currently 
courses are offered through the Division of Building Safety and MHEI Online.   
For information on our course, please call 1-800-955-3044.  For information on MHEI 
Online, please call 1-703-558-0653.  

 Applicants may have to provide proof that they have a principle place of business. 
 An original bond in the amount of $5,000.00.   
 Please provide a copy of Secretary of State filing if a business entity. 

The examinations are 25 questions and open-book based on the following: 
 HUD Enforcement Regulations, Construction, and Safety Standards.   
 HUD Part 3280, 3282, 3283, and Part 3286.  
 Idaho Manufactured Housing Statutes and Administrative Rules. 
 The January 2004 Idaho Manufactured Home Installation Standard. 
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STATE OF IDAHO DIVISION OF BUILDING SAFETY
1090 East Watertower Street Suite 150

Meridian, Idaho 83642

 

Phone 800-955-3044 
Fax 877-810-2840 

dbs.idaho.gov 
 

APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION AS A MANUFACTURED HOUSING RETAILER, RESALE 
BROKER, OR INSTALLER  

  Category of license applying for: 
   _____ Installer ______ Retailer ______ Resale Broker 
 
  *There is no cost for the application and exam.   License fees are annual and initial fee is due  
    after passing the exam.  License fees are as follows: 

 Retailers or Resale Brokers:  $440.00 
 Installers:  $220.00 

 
Person applying for licensure (this person must take the exam and sign for the license). 

 

 

Company Name 
 
  Social Security Number or Co EIN: __________________Date of Birth: _____________ 
 
Mailing Address 

 
Telephone # Cell Phone 

 
E-mail Address 

    
  

PUBLIC RECORDS NOTICE – Business information such as your company address and phone number is  
regarded as public information according to the Idaho Public Records Act. Your business address and phone number may be 
provided to a third party upon written request. 

 
  Have you had a conviction or withheld judgment for a felony in this state, any U.S. territory, 
   or country?    __No   Yes.  If yes, please explain using the back side of this form. 
 
  Have you previously been licensed with Building Safety?   No ____ Yes: ___(If yes, previous 
  Name) ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
 *By signing this application I intend to be this company’s designated person to supervise 
   employees, either personally or through others.  If others will supervise they may need to be  
   licensed as a responsible managing employee.  Please see our website for further details. 

 
  _______________________________________              ___________________________ 
  Signature of Applicant                  Date 
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