Building a Safer Idaho

Frequently Asked Questions - Licenses

General

How can I determine if I need to be licensed?
See the Licensing & Continuing Education page for information about electrical, HVAC, manufactured housing, plumbing, and public works licensing. You may also contact the DBS office at 1-800-955-3044 to speak with a specialist in licensing policies and processes.
Where can I download licensing forms and applications?
View and download licensing applications and forms:
How do I renew my license?
Please contact our office at 1-800-955-3044 or e-mail us at customer.service@dbs.idaho.gov for further information.
What happens if I choose to work unlicensed?
Persons who perform electrical, HVAC or plumbing work without a required state-issued license or who violate other applicable codes or rules are subject to civil penalties.
It is unlawful to engage in public works contracting without first having acquired an Idaho Public Works Contractor License of the proper class. The Division of Building Safety may impose substantial administrative assessments for contractor violations.
It is unlawful to engage in construction management services on public works projects without first having acquired an Idaho Construction Manager License. Violations of this provision may result in significant administrative assessments.
Does Idaho have any Reciprocal licensing agreements?
Yes. The states that Idaho has an agreement with are listed in the Reciprocal_info.pdf document.
I am a landscaper and install sprinkler systems. Do I need to be licensed with DBS?
No. Landscapers and sprinkler installers do not need to be licensed with DBS. You may, however, need to be registered with the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licensing (IBOL). You can reach them at (208) 334-3233 or on the Web at www.ibol.idaho.gov. Once you've registered with IBOL, DBS will establish an account allowing you to obtain permits.
I am an excavator and install sewer and water lines. Do I need to be licensed with DBS?
No. Sewer and water line installers do not need to be licensed with DBS. You may, however, need to be registered with the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licensing (IBOL). You can reach them at (208) 334-3233 or on the Web at www.ibol.idaho.gov. Once you've registered with IBOL, DBS will establish an account allowing you to obtain permits.

Top

CEUs

Does the State of Idaho have Continuing Education Requirements (CEU) for Electricians?
Yes. For every three years you hold a valid Electrical Journeyman or Masters license you are required to obtain 24 hours of Idaho approved continuing education in order to renew your license. There are two ways to meet this requirement: 16 hours of the current NEC code changes and 8 hours of an industry related course OR 8 hours of the current NEC code changes, 8 hours of an industry related course, and 8 hours of a code related course. Click here for a complete list of CEU courses [PDF] that have been approved by the State of Idaho.
Where do I find the Continuing Education (CEU) applications and documents for Electrical or Plumbing?
Continuing Education information is found at the bottom of the license information page.
Will the State of Idaho accept CEU's that were obtained out of state?
Idaho will accept most Electrical CEU courses taken in Montana, Oregon, North Dakota and Wyoming.
Does the State of Idaho have Continuing Education Requirements (CEU) for Plumbers?
Yes. After December 31, 2013, plumbing journeyman and contractors will be required to have the minimum hours of continuing education to renew their license. Journeymen must complete eight (8) hours of continuing education for every three-year license cycle, or complete an exam administered by the Division. Of the required eight (8) hours, four (4) hours must be plumbing code update related and the other four (4) hours may be industry related training. Contractors must complete sixteen (16) hours of continuing education for every three-year license cycle. Hours accrued obtaining journeyman education may be applied toward this requirement whenever applicable. Click here for a complete list of CEU courses (PDFG) that have been approved by the State of Idaho.
Beginning January 1, 2013, those holding a valid journeyman license may take the CEU exam administered by the Division of Building Safety. A fee of fifty ($50) dollars must be paid before taking the exam. Click here for information regarding CEU’s.
Does the State of Idaho have Continuing Education Requirements (CEU) for HVAC?
There is no continuing education requirement for HVAC at this time.
Does the State of Idaho have Continuing Education Requirements (CEU) for MFG Installers?
Yes. Each year you hold a valid MFG Installer license you are required to obtain 4 hours of Idaho approved continuing education in order to renew your license.  You may contact the Division of Building Safety to inquire about approved courses.
 

Top